Regional Migration Update – End of the Financial Year

The end of the 2019-2020 financial year is just around the corner, the Australian States and Territories are swiftly updating their Nomination programs for the Subclass 190 and 491 visas.

We are providing you with the most current information that has been made available to date.

South Australia

Migrate SA will close their State Nomination program at 9 pm Adelaide time on 24 June 2020. Any applications that have not been submitted and paid for by this time will be deleted.

SA has not provided a date for when the program will reopen for the 2020-2021 year.

New South Wales

The NSW Government has opened their Subclass 491 visa program until 5pm 26 June 2020 for applicants already living in regional NSW, and who have an occupation on the NSW Regional Skilled Occupation List.


BSMQ have closed their nomination program for both the 190 and 491 visas this financial year. Applicants who have been invited to lodge a QLD Nomination application will continue to be processed, however, if no nomination is received by 30 June then a new EOI will need to be lodged once the program reopens.

We are advised that BSMQ are waiting to hear from the Department of Home Affairs in relation to their quota numbers for the new financial year, and that this may be delayed due to the budget (not due to be released until October 2020)

Northern Territory

The Territory page advises that their program remains closed to offshore applicants at this stage. There will also be changes to the eligibility requirements for all nominations as of 1 July 2020.


The Victorian nomination program closed at the end of May 2020 and will not reopen until the new financial year quota is received.


Tasmania has allowed some flexibility for some applicants affected by COVID-19 who are trying to meet the requirements for TAS state nomination. No updates on any closure or change to requirements as yet.

Western Australia

The WA government made changes to their occupation list on 16 June 2020, removing Registered Nurse (Mental Health) (254422) and adding Nuclear Medicine Technologist (251213) and Physicist (234914) – with the specialisation of Medical Physicist.

Australian Capital Territory

The ACT conducted an invitation round on 3 June, issuing 81 invitations for 190 visas. No 491 invitations have been issued since 21 April due to meeting quota. The next invitation round is due on or before 15 July.

StudyIn’s Advice

Now is a good time to gather together the requirements to lodge an EOI and potential nomination application, including obtaining a skill assessment and sitting an English test. This will ready applicants for when the State/Territory programs reopen, as previous experience has shown that this may only be for a very short window of time.

The new financial year always bring some upheaval in terms of requirement changes, form changes, and fee increases. As the States and Territories are reaching the end of their nomination programs, applicants need to be patient and wait to see what the new financial year will bring.

Check Your Eligibility Now

Qualifications Skills Review