Regional migration in the nutshell

The 2019-20 financial year was proof that The Australian Government is committed to supporting migrants to settle in regional areas.

The Regional immigration program is a boost to Australian regional areas.

The Regional program consist of:
  • 2 skilled regional provisional visas that provide a pathway to permanent residence
  • a skilled regional permanent resident visa
  • additional points under the Skilled Migration Points Test for skilled migrants nominated to live and work in regional Australia

Also the Regional program give more options for international students who graduate from regional universities

Extra 1 or 2 year visa for international graduates from regional institutions

The Department of Home Affairs has announced a new initiative for an additional Temporary Graduate visa with an extra one or two year of post-study work rights for international students who:

  • graduate from the regional campus of a registered university or institution with higher education or postgraduate qualification; and
  • maintain an ongoing residence in a regional area while holding their first Temporary Graduate (subclass 485) visa
  • The second Temporary Graduate visa will require ongoing residence in a regional area.
Increase in post-study work rights based on Australian qualification
  • Bachelor degree (including Honours ): 2 + 1 year
  • Masters by coursework: 2 + 1 year
  • Masters by research: 3 + 1 year
  • Doctoral degree: 4 + 1 year
  • Other courses of study comprising at least 2 academic years: 1.5 + 1 year

In order to be eligible for this visa extension, students need to graduate from a regional institution and then spend at least two years residing in a regional area. The additional Temporary Graduate visa will be officially implemented in November 2019, and be available to the first eligible graduates from 2021.

Existing Temporary Graduate visa holders may be eligible, provided they can meet these requirements.

Regional areas may include Newcastle, Wollongong, NSW Central Coast, Adelaide, Hobart and Canberra.

The definition of regional Australia for this purpose will be the same as the definition for skilled migration – all of Australia excluding Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane. Important change: Perth and Gold Coast are classified as regional areas.

Check Your Eligibility Now

Qualifications Skills Review